Revised Boundary Commission proposals

Fabian reviews the revised Boundary Commission proposals

The Boundary Commission, in response to government policy, has produced revised proposals for parliamentary constituencies in line with the general intention to reduce the number of MPs to around 700 and to even out the number of constituents represented by each MP. The first set of proposals ludicrously proposed that Moortown and Alwoodley wards were incorporated into a constituency that extended nearly to Pateley Bridge covering three local authorities and containing very different residential and economic communities.

In the light of the nationwide general reaction to the original boundary proposals, the Boundary Commission has produced revised proposals for consultation. Full details can be found on their web site at

The revised proposals envisage dividing up the council wards in of Leeds North East to be part of three separate proposed constituencies.


Alwoodley would form part of Otley, a constituency in the Wharf valley extending to include Adel and Wharfedale, Otley and Yeadon, Guiseley and Rawdon together with the Bradford Council district of Wharfedale covering Burley in Wharfedale.

Moortown and Meanwood

Moortown and Meanwood would from part of Leeds North, a constituency also comprising Weetwood, Kirkstall, Headingley and Hyde Park and Woodhouse.

Roundhay and Chapel Allerton

Roundhay and Chapel Allerton would join a Leeds East constituency together with Killingbeck and Seacroft, Gipton and Harehills and Burmantofts and Richmond Hill.

Fabian's view is that, in terms of the implications for his constituents, these proposals have more merit than their predecessors. However it is Labour Policy to oppose any boundary changes and he will join his colleagues to vote against their adoption. In terms of adoption and implementation, much will depend upon the internal politics of the coalition government parties. Liberal Democrats withdrew their support for boundary changes when it became clear that the Conservative MPs would not agree to reform the present constitution of the House of Lords.